Category: Contemporary Fiction

Sort

Showing 1601-1620 of 1620

Image for Smart Vs. Pretty

Smart Vs. Pretty

By: Valerie Frankel

Price: $6.50

Publisher: Avon Trade: February 2000

Seller ID: 16310

ISBN: 0380805421

Condition: Used - Good


Out-of-work urban professional Francesca Greenfield has always known that she was the "smart" sister.Amanda was the soft and lovely one who, from the beginning, had always garnered most of the attention -- and all the dates. Now they've been thrown together in a last-ditch effort to save the family coffeehouse business before it goes permanently down the drain.In the chaotic misdt of mad promotional schemes and piranhalike next-door competitors, the sisters Greenfi... View more info

Image for Set in Motion

Set in Motion

By: Valerie Martin

Price: $4.00

Publisher: Washington Square Press: June 1991

Seller ID: 16157

ISBN: 0671736876

Condition: Used - Good


View more info

Image for Language of Flowers

Language of Flowers

By: Vanessa Diffenbaugh

Price: $7.50

Publisher: Books: January 0001

Seller ID: 57960

ISBN: 034553798X

Condition: Used - Good


View more info

Image for The Vintage Teacup Club

The Vintage Teacup Club

By: Vanessa Greene

Price: $7.50

Publisher: Berkley Trade: November 2013

Seller ID: 94796

ISBN: 0425265587

Condition: Used - Good


Three women's lives are about to change because of a few delicate pieces of china... When Jenny Davis comes across a beautiful vintage tea set at an outdoor market in the English countryside, she's convinced it's fate. A young bride on a budget, she has her heart set on a vintage tea-party theme for her wedding--and the gorgeous gold-rimmed china before her is perfect. There's only one problem. Two other women have fallen in love with it, too. So they come up with a... View more info

Image for The Vintage Teacup Club

The Vintage Teacup Club

By: Vanessa Greene

Price: $7.50

Publisher: Berkley Trade: November 2013

Seller ID: 119343

ISBN: 0425265587

Condition: Used - Good


Three women's lives are about to change because of a few delicate pieces of china... When Jenny Davis comes across a beautiful vintage tea set at an outdoor market in the English countryside, she's convinced it's fate. A young bride on a budget, she has her heart set on a vintage tea-party theme for her wedding--and the gorgeous gold-rimmed china before her is perfect. There's only one problem. Two other women have fallen in love with it, too. So they come up with a... View more info

Image for The Island

The Island

By: Victoria Hislop

Price: $7.50

Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks: July 2007

Seller ID: 83068

ISBN: 0061340324

Condition: Used - Good


The Petrakis family lives in the small Greek seaside village of Plaka. Just off the coast is the tiny island of Spinalonga, where the nation's leper colony once was located--a place that has haunted four generations of Petrakis women. There's Eleni, ripped from her husband and two young daughters and sent to Spinalonga in 1939, and her daughters Maria, finding joy in the everyday as she dutifully cares for her father, and Anna, a wild child hungry for passion and a li... View more info

Image for No! I Don't Want to Join a Book Club: Diary of a Sixtieth Year

No! I Don't Want to Join a Book Club: Diary of a Sixtieth Year

By: Virginia Ironside

Price: $7.00

Publisher: Plume: March 2008

Seller ID: 123822

ISBN: 0452289238

Condition: Used - Good


Read Virginia Ironside's posts on the Penguin Blog. A screamingly funny and poignant story about embracing life beyond middle age Marie Sharp is heading toward sixty and is just fine with it. She's already had plenty of excitement in her life: sex and drugs in the freewheeling sixties, career and children, marriage and divorce. Now she's ready to settle into a quiet, blissfully boring routine. No Italian classes or gym memberships or bicycle trips across Europe,... View more info

Payback Is A Mutha

By: Wahida Clark

Price: $2.00

Publisher: Dafina Kensington: 2009

Seller ID: 65582

ISBN: 0758293356

Condition: Used - Good


View more info

Image for Crime of Privilege: A Novel

Crime of Privilege: A Novel

By: Walter Walker

Price: $7.75

Publisher: Ballantine Books: February 2014

Seller ID: 119334

ISBN: 034554837X

Condition: Used - Good


In the tradition of Scott Turow, William Landay, and Nelson DeMille, "Crime of Privilege" is a stunning thriller about power, corruption, and the law in America--and the dangerous ways they come together. A murder on Cape Cod. A rape in Palm Beach. All they have in common is the presence of one of America's most beloved and influential families. But nobody is asking questions. Not the police. Not the prosecutors. And certainly not George Becket, a young lawyer ... View more info

Pastures Nouveaux

By: Wendy Holden

Price: $4.00

Publisher: Headline Review: July 2001

Seller ID: 97924

ISBN: 0747266166

Condition: Used - Good


View more info

Image for Midori by Moonlight

Midori by Moonlight

By: Wendy Nelson Tokunaga

Price: $7.25

Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin: September 2007

Seller ID: 120596

ISBN: 0312372612

Condition: Used - Good


Midori Saito's dream seems about to come true. Too independent for Japanese society, Midori is a young woman who has always felt like a stranger in her native land. So when she falls in love with Kevin, an American English teacher, she readily agrees to leave home and start a new life with him in San Francisco--as his fiancee. Kevin seems to be the perfect man. That is, until he dumps her for his blonde ex-fiancee, whom Midori never even knew existed. Midori is left on h... View more info

Image for Elements of Style: A Novel

Elements of Style: A Novel

By: Wendy Wasserstein

Price: $7.45

Publisher: Vintage: May 2007

Seller ID: 8271

ISBN: 1400076870

Condition: Used - Good


"Elements of Style," the Pulitzer Prize--winning playwright Wendy Wasserstein's first novel, ""is a scathing comedy about New York's high society facing the post--9/11 world. Francesca Weissman, an Upper East Side pediatrician rated number one by "Manhattan" magazine, floats on the fringes of the upper strata of privilege and aspiration. Through her bemused eyes we meet the thoroughbred socialite Samantha Acton; relentless social climber Judy Tremont; Barry Santorini, an... View more info

Is the Bitch Dead, or What? (The Ritz Harper Chronicles #2)

By: Wendy Williams, Karen Hunter

Price: $6.00

Publisher: Broadway Books: January 2007

Edition: Book Club

Seller ID: 75434

ISBN: 0739479458

Condition: Used - Good


View more info

Image for Testing Kate

Testing Kate

By: Whitney Gaskell

Price: $6.00

Publisher: Bantam: October 2006

Seller ID: 38173

ISBN: 0553383140

Condition: Used - Very Good


No one is better than Kate Bennett at playing by the rules-because no one has quite her knack for running into bad luck. Orphaned while in college, Kate handled her loss by graduating with honors and acquiring a secure job and a dependable boyfriend. But now, with her thirtieth birthday around the corner, Kate decides it's time to shake things up. She quits her job, breaks up with her long-term boyfriend, and U-Hauls it across the country for her first year at Tulane Law... View more info

Image for She, Myself & I

She, Myself & I

By: Whitney Gaskell

Price: $6.00

Publisher: Bantam: September 2005

Seller ID: 115464

ISBN: 0553383132

Condition: Used - Good


The Cassel sisters have little in common besides a pair of wacky parents and a maddening knack for eluding happily-ever-after endings. But when their lives require damage control, only a dose of sisterhood will do. Paige, the oldest, is a go-getter divorce attorney who's reeling from her own disastrously failed marriage-and the fact that her ex has suddenly come roaring out of the closet with a cute boyfriend in tow. Middle sister Sophie is having trouble adjusting t... View more info

Image for How to Make an American Quilt

How to Make an American Quilt

By: Whitney Otto

Price: $3.00

Publisher: Ballantine Books: April 1992

Seller ID: 8854

ISBN: 0345370805

Condition: Used - Good


" Intensely thoughtful...honest...intelligent....The book spans half a century and addresses not only (these women's) histories but also their children's, their lovers', their country's, and, in the process, their gender's." SAN FRANCISCO CHRONICLEEight women gather together over the years to piece together an extrarodinary quilt of their own imaginative devising. And as they stitch, we listen to the stories they have to tell of their successes and fail... View more info

Image for South Riding

South Riding

By: Winifred Holtby

Price: $6.50

Publisher: BBC Books: June 2011

Seller ID: 71786

ISBN: 1849902038

Condition: Used - Good


A new TV tie-in edition of Winifred Holtby's classic novel, accompanying Andrew Davies's ("Bleak House, ""Little Dorrit") three-part adaptation The community of South Riding, like the rest of England, lives in the long shadow of war. Blighted by recession and devastated by the loss, they must also come to terms with significant social change. Forward-thinking and ambitious, Sarah Burton is the embodiment of such change. After the death of her fiance, she returns home... View more info

Image for The Housekeeper and the Professor

The Housekeeper and the Professor

By: Yoko Ogawa

Price: $7.00

Publisher: Picador: February 2009

Seller ID: 65827

ISBN: 0312427808

Condition: Used - Good


He is a brilliant math Professor with a peculiar problem--ever since a traumatic head injury, he has lived with only eighty minutes of short-term memory. She is an astute young Housekeeper--with a ten-year-old son--who is hired to care for the Professor. And every morning, as the Professor and the Housekeeper are introduced to each other anew, a strange and beautiful relationship blossoms between them. Though he cannot hold memories for long (his brain is like a tape tha... View more info

Image for White Teeth

White Teeth

By: Zadie Smith

Price: $5.00

Publisher: Random House: April 2000

Seller ID: 120441

ISBN: 0375501851

Condition: Used - Good


View more info

The Best Kind of People a novel

By: Zoe Whittall

Price: $9.00

Publisher: Ballantine: 2018

Seller ID: 125183

ISBN: 0525618678

Condition: Used - Good


View more info